Smokey Pig Barbeque


To say that I like this restaurant is an understatement;  I eat here at least once a week.  From the outside it looks very unassuming.  In fact I have had many friends tell me they wouldn’t want to eat there because it is so small and cramped.  But I defy you to drive by on a morning when they have the smoker rolling full speed without your mouth watering from the smell alone.

It is a small restaurant especially at lunch.  You will find every police officer in the county as well as anyone else who happens to be on lunch break near by.  I prefer to go in the afternoon, when it is less crowded.  However, by doing so there is a risk that they might have run out of some items, particularly the ribs. I also enjoy sitting in the back room where there is a quaint overlook of Barren River.

At the Smokey Pig they do things “the Monroe County Way.”  Which means that everything is dry smoked with very few seasonings.  All of the seasoning comes from the smoke itself and a vinegar based sprinkle added when you order.  The sprinkle is mildly spicy so if you like it hot, get it dipped.  If you don’t, ask them to lightly sprinkle it.  You can dial in just the right amount of flavor for you.

I have ate at the pig enough times to sample everything they have to offer.  My personal favorites are, the pork chop and the half chicken.  The pork shoulder is a huge hit as well, if you like shoulder.  I have only had the privilege to have had the ribs once because no matter how many they make, they always sell out.  So, if you know you are going and want ribs, call ahead to have some reserved.

Aside from the meat, this barbeque joint stands out from the rest because the sides are as good or better than the barbeque itself.  The Mashed potatoes are made fresh from new potatoes, the baked beans have just the right amount of flavor, and you can choose from mayo or vinegar slaw, both of which are excellent.  I also really enjoy the macaroni and cheese.

Overall I would give this restaurant 5 out of 5 stars.  The people are friendly the food is great and it won’t cost you an arm and a leg.  Also everything is ready to go, so you can stop by and pick up a plate on the way home from work.  How much better can it get?

Map

Smokey Pig Bar-B-Q on Urbanspoon

Explore posts in the same categories: restaurants

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Smokey Pig Barbeque”


  1. […] Smokey Pig Barbeque. To say that I like this restaurant is an understatement; I eat here at least once a week. From the outside it looks very unassuming. In fact I …blakeats.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/smokey-pig-barbeque/ […]


Leave a comment