Franklin Hot Plate

As a child we frequented a small cafe in my hometown of Centertown, Kentucky.  It was uniquely named “The Centertown Cafe.”  This cafe was special though.  Not for the food that was served, but because it was the only one in town.  Every person young or old came out to “the restaurant,” as it was colloquially known, to share stories, drink coffee and get a good meal.  When the owner passed away, the restaurant closed and left me looking for another such place.

Twenty years later I found it.  The Hot Plate in Franklin Kentucky is an un assuming restaurant, just a metal pole building with concrete floors.   as we pulled in the parking lot the first thing I noticed was how full it was, the first sign of a good place to eat.  When you walk in you notice racing memorabilia next to University of Kentucky posters and paintings, in my book a sure sign of a good place to eat.  White boards are hung around the room advertising the daily specials.  All of these things tell me it is the right place to be to hear a great lie and get a good meal.

My group tried a variety of items from the menu and no one had anything negative to say.  I had the fried chicken from the daily special.  I’ve had better fried chicken in my time but I also know I’ve had less healthy fried chicken, if you catch my drift.

The best part of the meal was dessert.  Several pies were ordered by our table and the consensus is that the chocolate pie was the best.  It had a tall meringue, which I personally found to be too much, but if you enjoy meringue this would be perfect for you.

The wait staff were extremely friendly, and even offered to put pie back for us since it was Sunday and pies were going fast.  The meal was well priced, my wife and I ate for less than fifteen dollars.

If you are looking for a fancy restaurant, with high class atmosphere and stellar food, this is not the right restaurant.  However, if you want a place to go and socialize and hear the local gossip while you get a good home style meal, I would go to the Hot Plate again any day.

4 out of 5 stars.

Menu

page 1
page2

Map Location is about 8 miles south of South Warren High School.

Hot Plate on Urbanspoon

Explore posts in the same categories: restaurants

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

